Hypnic Jerks and Violent Legs!

Over the last week or so as I’m falling asleep I’ve had hypnic jerks. I have had them on and off for all of my life. Usually they are just inconvenient and delay my falling to sleep. Now they are painful and hurt my back. Luckily not too much just enough to delay my sleep a bit longer than usual.

This morning at 5am I was asleep sitting up, this is the most comfortable position while my back is bad. Suddenly my legs violently kicked forward, both of them! I can’t remember dreaming. I woke up to the sudden movement and then an awful pain in my back. I got up to make sure it hadn’t affected my ability to stand/walk, the pain was that bad, and then took 2x Tramadol 50mg and 2x Cocodamol 30mg/500mg. Nearly 3 hours later and the pain hasn’t subsided. My lower back is very tender to touch, has been for a couple of weeks now. I can’t get comfortable in any position due to the achy, burning pain and the feeling that there is a lump in my spine.

I don’t know if it’s my brain, my body or both that are evil!

Has anyone else experienced this? Has it caused further problems or more damage to bulging/herniated discs?

2 thoughts on “Hypnic Jerks and Violent Legs!

  1. I had those jerks before I had my surgery, but they were not painful. I’ve had them for as long as I can remember from time to time, but they became more frequent and happened much sooner after I’d get in bed in the months leading up to my fusion surgery. Now they only happen when I am so close to falling asleep that it’s hard to remember them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

