A Pain in the Bum

Since I took my Mum (who is disabled) to a&e (which involved me lifting her wheelchair in & out of the car) and been sleeping on my right side I’ve started getting pain in my right buttock/hip. Yesterday morning I woke up at 3:30 with the pain. I took some paracetamol & tramadol, waited for them to kick in then lay back down. The pain in my hip had gone but my back was sore so took a while to fall asleep. I woke up a few times with twinges in my right hip but moved a bit and went back to sleep. I woke up at 9am in agony. My back was sore, there was still tingling in my left foot but every time I put weight on my right leg I got an electric shock in my hip which shot up to the top of my buttock and down to the bottom of my buttock. I was in tears with the excruciating pain. I had all of my morning painkillers at 9:15 and got my icepack on but my back and right hip were still really painful.

After a few hours it had settled down with just pain, a bit worse than normal, in my back and sciatica in my left leg. I am very lucky to have a couple of friends who also suffer from spine problems, who I trust implicitly, to talk to and get advice from. I would prefer that they didn’t have to suffer though.

I try not to miss out on anything and not let the chronic pain interrupt my life too much. Yesterday afternoon I went to my nephew’s (friend’s son) 1st birthday party. It was a lovely afternoon and nearly everybody did all they could to make sure I was comfortable and stocked up on food and soft drinks. They are my framily and really proved it yesterday. I am grateful to have them in my life.

Part of the advice I got was to sit in a reclining chair set in a comfortable position to sleep. I don’t have a recliner so used my pillows and body pillow to prop myself up in bed. I slept like that for about 3 hours last night, then lay down for the rest of the night. It helped a great deal and I will do this every night now, or for as long as my back will allow me too!

2 thoughts on “A Pain in the Bum

Leave a Reply

